The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

thorns

I gave up on The Girl of Fire and Thorns the first time I read it, but I wanted to give it a second chance. I quite enjoyed the story and characters so much more this time around.

The first part of the novel moved slowly. While I would feel periods of boredom, the moments of action and suspense made up for it. Elisa did get on my nerves, but I could understand where she was coming from. I loved how she grew so much from the beginning to the end.

The culture of the book is done really well. The people and their features and language are distinct and bring a certain detail to the book that sets it apart.

I am reading the second book right now and oh my is it good. So much swoon. So much danger. So much love. I need the third book stat!

