It has been one wonderfully crazy year for me. Let’s take a look back, month by month. 

January 

At this time, making a book blog was high on my New Year’s Resolution, but it would still be a few more months before In Italics was born.

There were so many great books that released in January, but one stood out above the rest.

archived

The Archived by Victoria Schwab

Honarable Mentions

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis/ The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

February 

 Some of my favorite books of the year came out in February.

  Mind Games by Kiersten White

mindgames

Honorable Mentions

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys/ Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi/Pivot Point by Kasie West 

March 

I am cheating a bit here, but I can’t think of a book that released in March, so instead I am choosing a book that I read in March. 

How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller

HowtoLeadaLifeofCrime

April 

Another slow month, but there were still some great books that came out. 

Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2)

triumph 

Honarable MentionThis Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

May 

Narrowing down my favorite May book was pretty tough.

Reboot by Amy Tintera

Reboot 

Honorable MentionsThe Rules for Disappearing by Ashley Elston/ Dare You To by Katie McGarry/ The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey 

June 

This was the month that I started to really consider making a book blog. I was selected to be an Ambuzzador on Random Buzzers, and that was the push I needed to finally make a book blog.

The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton 

sun

Honorable MentionSiege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo 

July 

And finally In Italics is born! After years and years of wondering if I should start my book blog, I finally did. Although, truth be told, I didn’t actually publish my first post for another month. 

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West 

The Distance Between Us

August 

August 10th: My review and giveaway of The Lost Sun goes live. Much anxiety and excitement follow. I am going to cheat again and put down a series that I read in August, but was released previously. 

White Cat (Curse Workers #1) by Holly Black 

whitecat

September 

It felt like ALL the books came out in September. 

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

ColdestGirl 

Honorable Mentions: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater/ All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill,/Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis/Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller 

October

 I finally started to talk and chat with other bloggers and figured out the addiction that is Twitter. 

How to Love by Katie Cotugno

howtolove 

Honorable MentionsPremeditated by Josin L. McQuein/Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano 

November

I published my first review from an ARC I had acquired myself. 

The F-It List by Julie Halpern

TheFItList 

Honorable MentionsCrash Into You by Katie McGarry/World After by Susan Ee 

December 

Duh, duh, duh, duuuuhhhhh. It’s the last month of the year. I am so grateful to all of the wonderful people I have met and talked books with. So, instead of featuring some of my favorite releases, I will share with y’all some of the blogs I constantly read.

The Novel Hermit by the lovely and font-obssessed Cee

Andi’s ABCs by the very stylish Andi

The Daily Prophecy by the magical Mel

Little Book Star by fellow teen Leigh

Lit Up Review by not one, but four teens, Willa, Erin, Meredith, and Emily

Books and Cake by the witty Lillian

Tea Between Books by the humorous Sandra 

Chapteriosity by the friendly Kezia 

Really, there are so many more blogs, but I think that is plenty to get started. I will get a blog roll up next year!

 What about you guys? What were your highlights or favorite books of the year?

