Bolddiscussions

Welcome to BOLD discussions. Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments. It’s never too late to participate; whether it be an old discussion or a new one, tell me what you think. 

It’s been a while since I have had a true BOLD discussion, so I figured I would start off with a topic that’s on everyone’s mind: book to movie adaptations (and yes, Catching Fireinspired this post).

I want to know how many of you look forward to watching your favorite book play out on the big screen. I always get excited when I find out a book I’ve read is going to be adapted into a movie, but at the same time I am hesitant because I always think the book is better than the movie and I will only be disappointed.

Do some of you prefer not to see a book to movie adaptation at all? Sometimes there are books that just don’t need to be movies. Other times, the book is so great that a movie could just ruin the mental picture you have of the setting and the characters. 

What are some of your favorite books that are being made into movies? One of my favorite books of all time is Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta and it is being turned into a movie. Sadly, it’s an Australian film, so I have no idea how I can get my hands on a copy once it comes out. But, the point I’m trying to make is that I want to see the movie so incredibly much, but I am really scared that the movie will severely disappoint me. It won’t ruin my love for the book, but it would change how I picture some scenes or characters. 

Even if I think the movie is going to be awful, I just can’t resist going to see it. I keep my expectations really low so that I can avoid a majority of the disappointment. (Unless I’m talking about The Hunger Games movies because those are works of beauty and can do no wrong in my eyes.) With The Mortal Instruments, for example, I kept my hopes low and was pleasantly delighted with the movie. 

Talk to me! What book to movie adaptations are you eagerly anticipating? What are some book/movie adaptations that should have never happened? Let me know what you’re thinking.

P.S. Happy Thanksgiving!

