All the Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry

allthetruthPages: 274

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

Summary from Goodreads: 

Four years ago, Judith and her best friend disappeared from their small town of Roswell Station. Two years ago, only Judith returned, permanently mutilated, reviled and ignored by those who were once her friends and family. Unable to speak, Judith lives like a ghost in her own home, silently pouring out her thoughts to the boy who’s owned her heart as long as she can remember—even if he doesn’t know it—her childhood friend, Lucas. But when Roswell Station is attacked, long-buried secrets come to light, and Judith is forced to choose: continue to live in silence, or recover her voice, even if it means changing her world, and the lives around her, forever. This startlingly original novel will shock and disturb you; it will fill you with Judith’s passion and longing; and its mysteries will keep you feverishly turning the pages until the very last. 

Review: All the Truth That’s In Me is most certainly one of my favorite of 2013. I was anticipating its release, but I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did.

Distinctive, melodic, and gorgeous are the best words I can think to describe All the Truth That’s In Me. The book is seemingly simplistic with its word choice, but is full of beauty.

Told in second person, AtTTIM has a unique prose. The second person narration didn’t bother me at all, and it took me no time at all to adjust to the style and it makes me wish that more authors wrote in this style.

The setting is vague but descriptive. This book is a historical novel, but I couldn’t tell you when it takes place. The small town greatly shapes the characters’ actions and was an element I most loved in the novel.

I admit that some characters kept getting mixed-up in my head because I couldn’t keep all of the old-fashioned names straight. I never lost track of the main characters though. Judith and Lucas are tragically flawed, but I rooted for them the whole novel. These are some of the most fantastic characters I’ve read in some time. Quite a few of them surprised me, others I despised, but every single one elicited some sort of reaction.

Really, I don’t want to spoil any of this novel’s loveliness. I felt a wide range of emotions while reading All the Truth That’s In Me that have stuck with me. I keep flipping through the pages, wishing I could read it for the first time all over again.

I highly recommend this one.

Have any of you read AtTTIM? If so, what did you think? I am always up for book discussions.

