Premeditated by Josin L. McQuien 

Pages: 336 Premeditated

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Summary from Goodreads: 

A week ago, Dinah’s cousin Claire cut her wrists.

Five days ago, Dinah found Claire’s diary and discovered why.

Three days ago, Dinah stopped crying and came up with a plan.

Two days ago, she ditched her piercings and bleached the black dye from her hair.

Yesterday, knee socks and uniform plaid became a predator’s camouflage.

Today, she’ll find the boy who broke Claire.

By tomorrow, he’ll wish he were dead.

Review: Premeditated was one of my most anticipated reads of 2013. Last year, when I read the synopsis for the first time, I couldn’t wait to have this book in my hands. Unfortunately, I think all of my high expectations led to disappointment.

The beginning started off strong. Dinah broke out of the gate with a strong personality that I instantly liked. Her anger rose off the page as did her loyalty.

It was almost painful to read about all of the malicious acts Dinah and her friends commit, though I didn’t have any sympathy for the villain. The whole revenge plot is cleverly thought out and devilish, which was exactly what I wanted. On that front, Premeditated went above and beyond what I had hoped for.

Dinah isn’t alone in kicking butt and taking names. The secondary characters in Premeditated steal the spot light on more than one occasion. Brucy had me laughing hysterically nearly every time he spoke. Dinah’s father was also a favorite of mine. I loved these secondary characters sometimes more than I did the main characters.

What kept me from really loving Premeditated is just a bit spoiler-y. Guessing the major plot twist of the novel is incredibly easy and something I spotted a mile away. Yes, it added tension to the plot, but for me it made me cringe and want to slap some sense into the characters more than once. I can’t tell if McQuien wanted readers to guess the truth or not. Either way, this made the book lose some of its appeal.

It seems that the curse of revenge books has struck again. I am always eager to read them and am always sadly let down. The writing, the characters and the suspense are all there, but the predictability coupled with my unreasonable high expectations made Premeditated a bit of a lackluster read. 

