The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

Pages: 439 The Dream Thieves

Publisher: Scholastic

Summary (from Goodreads): 

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

Review:

How did I resist reading The Dream Thieves for almost a month? I’m still not sure, but I wish I hadn’t.

DAT prologue. It was so beautiful and intriguing. Truly, it was a fantastic opening to the novel.

The pace was a little bit off, in my opinion. Sometimes the switching of POV was frustrating. Just when I would want one mystery solved, another would be introduced. The complexity of Stiefvater’s plots is what I love best, but sometimes I felt like I was missing things and not fully aware of what was happening.

A few times in the book I thought, “What am I reading?” The Dream Thieves is very unique and clever, but also a bit out there. The tone of book 2 is very different than book 1. It’s got just as much magic, if not more, but it’s much more dark and strange.

Getting to know more about Ronan Lynch is easily the best element of the story. His story is the most fantastic. Adam tried to steal the spotlight on more than one occasion, but in the end it was all Ronan’s story.

New characters are introduced, adding to this large cast. I won’t say much more about who they are because of risk of spoilers, but just know that each one furthers the plot, the mystery, the magic.  

The Dream Thieves answers some questions and raises many more. Stiefvater’s usual wit comes to life. The tale of the Raven Boys continues in this riveting novel of mayhem and suspense.

I can’t get this book out of my head! I still have many questions, so tomorrow I will be posting a discussion for you to be a part of. Come back and share your thoughts.

