Only part 1, you ask? Why, yes. I had so much fun at ATBF that I couldn’t possibly fit it all into one post.

The day started off great. There were multiple exhibitors and publishers showing off their new releases. I got some samples of upcoming books, and there are some really great ones I can’t wait for!photo-1 

From Penguin Teen, I can’t wait for What I Thought Was True and also The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson. The Penguin rep seemed to be really looking forward to The Impossible Knife of Memory, too.

Next I stopped by the Fierce Reads (Macmillan) table and saw some of the new goodies they were publishing soon. I had a nice chat with one of their reps and was very fortunate to receive an ARC of The F-It List by Julie Halpern. I can’t wait to start reading it, and I will have a review up closer to the publication date.

I went on to buy lots of books from BookPeople. You can check out my haul here.

Then it was time for the opening speech by Maggie Stiefvater! I really love her writing, and she was one of the authors I was looking forward to meeting. Her speech was about fear and imagination, and how we are all dream thieves (a reference to her latest novel). She had some funny anecdotes to share and seemed genuinely excited to kick off the start of the festival.

I headed off to a panel titled “Into Hearts of Darkness”. Basically, all of the authors discussed how they were evil and loved to reflect it in their writing. It was pretty great. I snapped pictures of all the authors. Please excuse the quality; the iPhone did the best it could.

photo-5  photo-3  photo-6  photo-7  Wasserman & Black

All of these lovely authors were hilarious. I think this was my favorite panel of the day. Victoria Scott brought devil horns, so that every time someone said something particularly evil they had to wear the horns. It just kept the panel fun and exciting. Later, the authors played a game of Truth or Dare with the audience, which led to April Tucholke writing a haiku about “Cold, cold Holly Black” and Holly Black stealing the devil horns right off Victoria Scott’s head. I couldn’t think of a better way to have started my Saturday morning.

I have more to share tomorrow! Check back for more author discussions, a light saber battle, and author signings.

