This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is a little different than normal. (If you would like to learn more about the meme in general, click here.)

The book I’ve chosen is one I cannot wait to read, yet has had its publication date pushed back. Way back. I’m talking at least eight months. The author released her statement yesterday as to why this whole situation has happened.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkin

Expected Publication: June 3, 2014 The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

There is no current synopsis for the novel.

When I found out that the release date had been pushed back from late October to (around) June of next year, I was disappointed. This is one of my favorite series. I knew there must be a reason for this change, and yesterday, Michelle Hodkin released a statement about the reason why.

But in the last few years, I’ve realized that there’s a third thing that you can’t ever undo. Most people won’t have the chance to discover this third thing, but I have. You can’t undo a book.

The link to her full explanation can be found here.

I really respect her decision. I think it takes a lot of courage to stand up for your creations, be it any work of art. I know it can’t be easy telling so many fans this news, but overall, I do feel that Michelle Hodkin is looking out for the interest of her readers. Hopefully, The Retribution of Mara Dyer will be the best book of the trilogy because it was given the time to be written the way it needs to be written. 

What do you all think of this turn of events?

