Angelfall by Susan Ee

Pages: 283                     Angelfall

Publisher: Feral Dream

Source: Won in giveaway from J Reads YA!

Summary from Goodreads:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Review: 

Angelfall makes a lot of angel books pale in comparison. Penryn is a very vivid main charcter. There is certainly a lot of action going on in Angelfall, which made the book very hard to put down.

I really love dystopians/post-apocalyptics, but I haven’t read one recently that really stood out from the rest. Angelfall changed all of that, though. Set in Silicon Valley/San Francisco, Angelfall has a good, but not overly terrific, setting. The explanation as to why the angels attacked is a little unclear. The novel could have used a touch more explanation regarding the background of the story.

Penryn is an exciting protagonist. Her level-headedness combined with her impulsivity keeps the story moving at a brisk pace. Her love for her sister and mother is clearly evident. It only made me like her more. Raffe is very cocky but well-developed. I was rooting for those two the whole story.

Suan Ee can definitely tell a good story, but she sometimes uses odd phrases or expressions. Sometimes it would draw me out of the story, but the action always pulled me right back in. I look forward to seeing how Ee’s writing will grow over the course of the series.

When I reached the end, things took a turn for the creeeeppppyyyy. I went from shock to horror to disgust to sympathy. It was quite the whirlwind of emotions. I was very surprised by all the horrors introduced. I am so eager to see how it all plays out in World After, the next book in the series.

Angelfall delighted and shocked me. I’m very glad I had the opportunity to read it. 

