Bolddiscussions

I’m very curious to see what you all think of first sentences in a book.

What kind of sentence grabs your attention?

Is it the zinger? 

JellicoeRoad

“My father took one hundred and thirty-two minutes to die.”

Or the unassuming, quiet kind?

tigerlily

 “She stands on the cliffs, near the old crumbling stone house.” 

embers

Does the action-packed attention-grabber pique your interest? 

“Ashline Wilde lay battered on the side of the Pacific Coast Highway and watched her boyfriend emerge from the fiery car wreck, back from the dead.”

Or the rare dialogue intro?

cityobones “‘You’ve got to be kidding me,’ the bouncer said, folding his arms across his massive chest.”

Is the blunt style your favorite? 

outoftheeasy 

     “My mother’s a prostitute.” 


What is your favorite first sentence? What kind of sentence is your favorite? Be sure to let me know in the comments!

Want to check out more discussions? Head over to The Fiction Conniption!

