To learn more about condensed reviews visit my first condensed review post here.

Cross My Heart by Sasha Gould

CrossMyHeartSet in 16th centrury Venice Cross My Heart is a historical novel full of murder and secrets.

I had never heard of this book before, so I read it with no expectations.

The writing is nice, the protagonist enjoyable, and the plot suspenseful. 

Despite its predictability and lack of character development, I liked Cross My Heart. 

While I won’t be rushing out to get the sequel anytime soon, I would recommend Cross My Heart if you want a quick historical read, especially one set in Italy.

Parts of this book greatly reminded me of Grave Mercy. Both characters deal in secrets and hail from a convent. Cross My Heart is Grave Mercy’s younger, less complex companion.

Pardon My French (A S.A.S.S. novel) by Catherine Hapka

Pardon My FrenchBefore finding this one in the library, I was completely unfamiliar with the S.A.S.S. series, but ever since I picked it up I have been seeing more and more of them.

Nicole is a very annoying main character. She constantly complains about studying in Paris. I could not at all understand her negativity. I’m a huge language lover and one of my biggest dreams is to study abroad. I wanted to shake Nicole until she realized how lucky she was. 

Paris, where the novel obviously takes place, didn’t really come alive on the page. In the beginning I thought there was potential, but the setting never amazed me.

The series seems to be geared toward younger readers, which isn’t really my kind of thing. If I come across another S.A.S.S. book I might give it a chance, especially because each one is written by a different author, but if I don’t I won’t be disappointed.

