Reboot by Amy Tintera    

                                Reboot

Pages: 365

Publisher: HarperTeen

Summary from Goodreads:                              

 Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).


Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.

Review:

Reboot sounded pretty awesome. It’s a zombie book with only minimal gore and plenty of blood.

Wren, the main character, is this cold-blooded killer, and I will admit that I respect her for that. She kills without regret, literally talking about how she enjoys the thrill of it all. I loved that about the book because typically when there is a murderer as a character they only feel guilt and remorse. This  look at the other side of a sociopathic mindset was refreshing in a disturbing kind of way. Wren is a very distant character, supposedly emotionless, though really she is just very awkward and anti-social. I found her to be amusing when she was in that odd emotional state:

“I guessed this was a friend thing. I saw the other girls doing it, so I went along with it.” – pg 11

(That sounds so much like my friend interactions it isn’t even funny.)

Of course she changes pretty quickly once she meets Callum, a very humanlike reboot. Wren sort of lost her edge once he entered the picture, but she regained some of her earlier killer personality by the end. Callum is the complete opposite of Wren, so I really enjoyed their scenes together (which are plentiful).

For the majority of the book, Wren and Callum are really the only characters that truly affect the plot. Sure, there are others, but really Callum is all Wren could think about. I wouldn’t call it insta-love because they were never necessarily mushy or made me want to gag myself on their gushiness. (Gushiness is totally word.)

The Texas pride evident in Reboot definitely caused me to favor this book a little more. I ain’t even going to try and act like it didn’t. The explanation for why the USA has fallen apart is practically non-existant, except for the fact that some disease killed many, many people and caused some of the victims to reboot. Texas is the only state still standing and it has become a dangerous place to live. The settings are excellent, though my favorite is the dystopian version of Austin:

“‘It’s weird here,’ he mumbled.” – pg 295

TINTERA, I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE.

Reboot will have a sequel, which I feel is much needed because the ending was a little too convenient. I’m hoping this means something bad will start off the next book because I want to read more of Wren kicking butt.

